CITB Announces Grant Change

Posted on 1st March, 2023

TO SUPPORT supervisors and managers who currently hold Industry Accreditation gold or black CSCS cards, CITB has introduced an enhanced grant payment of £1,250 for successful achievement of the Supervisory qualification and £1,500 for achievement of the Management qualification.

Denise Cherry headshot
Denise Cherry, Chair of the National Roof Training Group

Denise Cherry, Chair of the National Roof Training Group (NRTG) said, “Card holders should check the back of their CSCS cards and if the card says “Industry Accreditation” (also known as Grandfather Rights), then now is the time to take advantage of CITB’s incentive to update the card by completing a Level 3-7 qualification, appropriate to their job role.

“Assessments for NVQs at Level 3 and above are carried out on a one-to-one basis, either in person or online, resulting in minimal disruption and downtime. Cost may vary between providers, but the grant allocation will certainly go a long way toward the cost of the qualification,” Denise added.

The increased CITB grant will also be applied to those looking to achieve these qualifications to obtain an upgrade to their cards.

Industry Accreditation

All Industry Accreditation (IA) cards issued from 1 Jan 2020 will expire on 31 December 2024 and cannot be renewed.

The action needed to replace a card depends on the cardholder’s occupation and what qualifications they might hold.

Those needing to obtain a qualification do not need to attend college. An NVQ can be achieved via various routes, such as OSAT and Experience Worker, and CITB grants may be available for employers to support with the cost of the qualification.

The applicable qualifications attracting an enhanced CITB grant payment are:


  • Gold CSCS Card - CITB Annouces Grant Change
  • Level 3/SCQF Level 6 in Built Environment Design
  • Level 3/SCQF Level 6 in Construction Contracting Operations – [any subcategory]
  • Level 3/SCQF Level 6 in Site Inspection
  • Level 3 in Surveying, Property and Maintenance
  • Level 4/SCQF Level 7 in Construction Site Supervision